Institute of Medicine Elects Four New Members from Penn

October 12, 2010

Penn Medicine News Release

Four professors from the School of Medicine have been elected members of the Institute of Medicine (IOM), one of the nation's highest honors in biomedicine. The new Penn IOM members are: Deborah A. Driscoll, MD, chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology and interim director of the Center for Research on Reproduction and Women's Health; Caryn Lerman, PhD, the Mary W. Calkins Professor in the Department of Psychiatry and the Annenberg Public Policy Center; director of the Tobacco Use Research Center; and the interim director of the Abramson Cancer Center; John R. Stanley, MD, the Milton B. Hartzell Professor, and chair of the Department of Dermatology; and Margaret Stineman, MD, professor of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation and professor of Epidemiology in the Center for Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics. These new members bring Penn's total IOM membership to 76. "We are proud that four of our most distinguished and accomplished scientists have been named to one of the country's leading institutions," said Dr. Arthur H. Rubenstein, Executive Vice President of the University of Pennsylvania for the Health System and Dean of the School of Medicine... Read More

Additional Coverage